How to stop microsoft edge from being used for sharing

How to

You can quickly stop or disable the “Microsoft edge is used for sharing” popup that appears when you close the Edge browser. Here is how to do it.

One of the best things Microsoft has done in a while is release a brand new Edge browser based on the Chromium browser. The old Edge browser was pretty good, but the new one is better and even rivals Google’s Chrome browser in terms of features, web compatibility, and new technology. In terms of speed and battery life, the new Edge Chromium browser is better than any other.

Like all browsers, Edge has built-in sharing capabilities. You can quickly share web pages with friends and family. Because of this new feature, some Edge users are now seeing the message “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing. When closing the Edge browser, you will see a pop-up message that says, “Closing Microsoft Edge may cause some items to not be shared. As you can guess from the message, some background sharing actions do not allow you to close the Edge browser immediately. The Edge browser will not close until you click the Close Anyway button.

In general, this pop-up message is not that big of a deal. After all, it can be closed with a single click. However, if the message “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” keeps popping up, closing it manually can be a hassle. Fortunately, you can quickly stop the “Microsoft Edge is used for sharing” pop-up from ever appearing again.

This brief guide will walk you through the steps to stop or disable the “Microsoft Edge is used for sharing” message in your Microsoft Edge browser.

Stop the “Microsoft Edge is used for sharing” popup

To prevent or stop the “Microsoft Edge is used for sharing” message in your Edge browser, you must disable the sharing feature. Below are the instructions on how to do this.

  1. Open the Edge browser.
  2. Click on the Menu (…)icon.
  3. Select the Settings option.
  4. Select Appearance in the sidebar.
  5. Look for the “Show Share Button” option and turn it off.
  6. Restart the Edge browser.

Here are the same steps in a little more detail.

First, launch the Microsoft Edge browser. You can do this by clicking on the Edge icon on the taskbar or by finding it in the Start menu. Once the browser is open, click on the top right menu (…) icon in the upper right corner and select the Settings option.

On the Settings page, select Appearance in the sidebar. On the page to the right, scroll down.

Then close the Edge browser and reopen it to make sure the changes have been applied.

You are now done. From now on, you will no longer get the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” pop-up message.

Hope this helps.

If you are having trouble or need help, please comment below and we will do our best to help.

See also: how to change the Microsoft Edge browser theme

YouTube video: How to stop Microsoft Edge from being used for sharing


.

Rate article
We provide high-quality and detailed Windows tutorials